The Uganda International Writers Conference



The 3rd Edition

ANN_5994From 6th – 8th March 2017, we hosted the 3rd Edition of the Uganda International Writers Conference at the Fairway Hotel, in Kampala under the theme: Contemporary Publishing Trends in Africa. The three day event was  an eclectic experience featuring 35 participants from the United States, United Kingdom, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Qatar, Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda.

Unique to this edition, was the inclusion of the performing arts sector, and how they relate to the changing trends of publishing in Africa.The conference also included two open events; a Keynote Address by Dr Bibi–Bakare Yusuf the co-founder and publishing director of one of Africa’s leading publishing houses, Cassava Republic Press; and a Poetry Performance by Lemn Sissay, the celebrated British-Ethiopian Poet and the Chancellor, Manchester University.

The 2nd Edition

DSC_0584African Writers Trust held its second edition of the Uganda International Writers Conference themed “Memoir and Truth”, from the 2nd – 6th March 2015. The conference drew 30 participants from Uganda, Rwanda, Malawi, Cameroon, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, the UK, the US and Canada.
The four day event involved sessions on several topics including Space and Identity in African Writing, and The Rise of Digital Literature and Publishing. It also included a keynote address by renowned South African writer, Prof. Zakes Mda, a visit to indigenous writing organization, FEMRITE, and a literary evening of readings and recitals that was open to the public.

The 1st Edition

Twenty-five African writers participated in the First Edition of the Uganda International Writers Conference in March 2013. The conference was themed: Dialogue Across the Diaspora, Across the Continent.’ It offered two activities: panel conversations which provided rich, stimulating discussions, and training sessions on digital writing and how to use social media as a writing development tool. Participating international writers came from Malawi, Liberia, DR Congo, Kenya, Ghana, The Netherlands, Norway and the United Kingdom.