APBFlogoFINAL1 The African Poetry Book Fund is excited to announce we’ve extended the deadline for the 2014 Glenna Luschei African Poetry Prize to October 1. Please consider nominating any eligible poets whose work you distribute or sponsor.

All books of poetry by African writers published in 2013 are eligible for consideration of the prize.
Fifteen days remain until the submission deadline for the inaugural Glenna Luschei African Poetry Prize.

The Glenna Luschei African Poetry Prize is awarded annually to a collection published by an African poet during the previous year. The winner receives US$5,000 and commendation at a ceremony held in a major US city. This year’s judge is internationally renowned Nigerian writer and poet Chris Abani. Submissions to the prize remain open from May 1 to October 1, 2014, with a winner to be announced in December. To be eligible for the Glenna Luschei Prize, a collection must be published in 2013 by a recognized press, and the author must be someone who was born in Africa, who is a national or resident of an African country, or whose parents are African.

If you’ve read a book that qualifies, please encourage the author or publisher to submit. Additionally, please share this information with eligible poets and publishers you know who might be interested in entering.

Full Submission Guidelines



Open through 1 December


Writers who have not yet published a book-length collection of poetry are eligible to submit to the Sillerman First Book Prize. Please share this opportunity with emerging writers you know who may qualify.

The winner receives USD $1000 and publication through with the University of Nebraska Press and Amalion Press in Senegal.

Past winners include Clifton Gachagua’s Madman at Kilifi and Ladan Osman’s The Kitchen Dweller’s Testimony. An “African writer” is taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, who is a national or resident of an African country, or whose parents are African.

Poetry manuscripts should be at least 50 pages long. All entries will be read anonymously, and the winner will be chosen by the African Poetry Book Fund Editorial Board. There is no fee to submit, and no application forms are necessary. Writers may submit more than one manuscript. The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets accepts electronic submissions ONLY. Click here to submit via Submittable.

Full Submission Guidelines

Share Button

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *